READ ABOUT US  in the Daily Press: A Grand Bed and Breakfast

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING about The Hornsby House Inn: 5 of 5 stars

“Very nice B & B” This is a DO NOT MISS PLACE– We really liked it. Two brothers, David and Phil, are the owners and opened their homeplace to visitors only a year and a half ago. They are new to this, and they seem to be doing everything just right. When we checked in we met their only employee, Megan, and she was delightful. Wine and cheese before dinner and lots of conversation with the other guests on the porch. The location could not have been better. Great view of the local victory monument and the James river out the front door. We met the innkeepers the next morning at breakfast. David sat down with 10 of us at breakfast and told us about the history of the place. This is why we like B and B’s. He made the stay very personal. Everyone enjoyed the experience of all sitting around one big dining table and getting to know each other. The room was very big and had a view of the river. Actually had a rooftop porch outside our room. The home is Beautiful and has tons of family history. You will like it…. TripAdvisor.com – May 2013

“A perfect base of operations”  My wife and I are from Maine, and planned to spend a few days in and around Virginia’s “historic triangle” of Jamestown, Williamsburg and Yorktown. We chose to stay at the Hornby House, which turned out to be the perfect base of operations for such a trip. It was quiet and beautiful, with a great view of the Chesapeake from the center of Yorktown. But it was also right off the Colonial Parkway and thus a short, easy and pretty drive to Williamsburg and Jamestown. David and Phil were outstanding and pleasant hosts, and make a fine breakfast. Their family house is full of interesting details and charm. This is the place to stay anywhere near this area. BedandBreakfast.com – May 2013

“Wonderful Experience” I heartly recommend the Hornsby House Inn. My wife and I stay in b&b’s frequently and I consider this property my top choice. Dave and Phil are great. They make you feel at home at what is probably the most “homey” place I’ve ever stayed. The rooms were great, the company was great and the experience was great. Hey Dave and Phil – take a look out your window. It might be me on the way back! TripAdvisor.com (Rocky Mount, NC) – May 2013

“Relaxing Mini-Honeymoon” Just spent a few days at the Hornsby House Inn and could not have picked a better place to stay for a nice mini R&R following our wedding. We stayed in the Grand Monument room and had an amazing, relaxing time with beautiful views of the York River. Fireplace was a great touch especially with unseasonably cooler temperatures in May. David and Phil’s breakfasts’ were top notch and even better was the friendly brother rivalry between dishes. Yorktown is a small town with big American history for those closet history fans and has a few food gems like the Carrot Tree, Yorktown Pub, and Italian Pizzeria over the bridge towards Gloucester (just ask David). Quick trips to Williamsburg and Jamestown down the Colonial Parkway were memorable. Really loved the comfortable, relaxing feel this unforgettable Inn provided and will hopefully return for anniversaries! TripAdvisor.com (Richmond, VA) – May 2013

“True Brits enjoy Hornsby Grits”  We (British couple – married 48 years!!) stayed at Hornsby for 3 nights, and found the experience most enjoyable. The exterior of the house is a little stark and belies the tasteful decoration, furnishings and comfort found once though the front door.
Originally Grandfathers house, it is now run hands on by brothers David and Phillip, who provide an exemplary standard of service and practical help to uninformed tourists. Breakfast is a not to be a missed event not only for the range and cooking of fresh foods but for the conversation around the large breakfast table. We Brits may have lost a battle hereabouts ( some say!) but recouped a Hospitality prize at Hornsby!!!!
Well positioned at one end of the Colonial Parkway to explore Yorktown, Williamsburg and Jamestown. Thoroughly recommended. TripAdvisor.com (Gloucestershire, UK) – April 2013

“Quaint and Elegant Yorktown Retreat”  Just a casual ‘stride’ down to the beautiful and quiet waterfront of Historic Yorktown.
We stayed on the third floor in the Hornsby House Room and everything was wonderful! Megan helped us get checked in, told us some of the history. Then we had wine and cheese outside on the front deck. We were very busy running around all weekend looking at property, but the short chances we got to be around the Inn were great! They adjusted breakfast for us on the second day to accommodate an early start. Thanks again to everyone there! TripAdvisor.com (Pittsburg, PA) – April 2013

“Victory at Yorktown!”  Hornsby House is the ultimate lodging experience in Historic Yorktown. The Innkeepers made guests feel welcome in their lovely family home. Based on our ten years of B&B experience, the Inn exceeded our expectations and is even more charming than described on the website. The inn provides spectacular views of the York River and is a short walk to the Yorktown Battlefield, the Historic Riverwalk. It’s also an easy drive to Williamburg and Jamestown. We enjoyed swapping family stories during happy hour and were treated to an delightful breakfast prepared from old southern family recipes. The accommodations were clean and spacious. TripAdvisor.com (Ft. Meyers, FL) – March 2013

“A wonderful find in Yorktown”  My wife and I just returned from a trip that ended with a two-night stay at Hornsby House Inn. We had a terrific time. The house itself is beautiful, with a large screened in porch, a pleasant sunroom, and lots of public areas to sit and relax. We stayed in the Riverview Room and it was very nice, with plenty of space and a comfortable bed. David and Phil Bowditch are excellent hosts, warm and welcoming. They are very ably assisted by Meghan, a charming young woman who really added to our experience. We came back from dinner on Saturday and found her in the kitchen baking brownies with three of the other guests – what a wonderful smell to come home to!  The house has been in the family since it was built in the 1930s, and one of the really special things was to see all of the family memorabilia – don’t miss the WWII photos in the office. We’re already talking about a return trip…there is plenty to do in the area, and it would be worth the 7 hour drive just to experience this wonderful hospitality again. TripAdvisor.com (Chestnut Ridge, NY) – March 2013

“History and Heaven in one location” Waking up to the beautiful quiet of Yorktown in a big four-poster bed with immaculate linens and a fluffy duvet. What more can one ask? The Host brothers are wonderfully attentive and an eggs benedict breakfast is a real treat. This is a family home and you can feel the care with which it is treasured. Good location for a history stroll and especially fun on Market Days. Walk to the water too! BedandBreakfast.com – February 2013

“Only a Tour of the House/Inn, but Fabulous Enough to Recommend!” My husband and I were afforded a private tour by a Bowditch family member of this gorgeous inn and all I can say is WOW…I want to go back and shoot the interiors. The location is spectacular, overlooking the York River and Yorktown Monument (one of the bedrooms actually has a miniature of the monument on the window sill), and the grounds gorgeous. Simply exquisite architecture, landscaping and interior decorations – especially the side “porch” or sunroom to the left (facing the house) with its wonderful floor-to-wall bricked fireplace. I have to tell you that the wonderful pictures simply don’t do this Inn justice. You have to get inside to “feel and absorb” the family history through all of its rooms, pictures, mementos, china, etc. Check it out and know that it looks much better in person: http://www.hornsbyhouseinn.com/ TripAdvisor.com (Gloucester, VA) – February 2013

“The essence of Southern Hospitality”  The Bowditch Family residence is an extraordinary find as it feels so much like home. It is very well located right in historic Yorktown, just up the hill from the water and adjacent to the spectacular War Memorial.The hosts,brothers David and Phil are so welcoming and full of great stories of local history. Waking up in the morning under pristine white linens and a fluffy duvet knowing you would get great breakfast and lots of hot coffee is the perfect way to start a day. Can’t wait to visit again!  TripAdvisor.com (Houston, TX) – February 2013

“A must stay when in Virginia”  This was our second stay at the Hornsby House and we brought three other couples with us and the Hornsby House family did not disappoint – our stay was so warm and welcoming! They go out of their way to make their guests happy and provide a fun, memorable stay. Planning our next visit in the summer!!! Can’t recommend enough – you’ll have an incredible stay!!  TripAdvisor.com (Williamsburg, VA) – February 2013

 “A True Gem in Yorktown”  Though it’s been a year since we stayed at the Hornsby House Inn the pleasure of the stay is still fresh. After visiting Williamsburg for a few days, we wanted to find a comfortable place in Yorktown to extend our stay. We called and David “invited” us to stay even for the one night relaxing the two-night policy over the holidays. We had a great visit, spending time with David and his staff. We talked about the history of the Inn, food and our shared interest in his cousin’s music Bruce Hornsby. Our suite was magnificent, the Monument Grand Suite, with the fireplace and large living and sleeping space. It was the perfect way to extend our holiday, warm and authentic in every way. David recommended a great place for dinner, treated us to a glass of wine and the day was complete. The morning breakfast was delicious, fresh and innovative. Loved sharing breakfast with the other guests and the innkeepers. We could have talked for hours, but we needed to keep with our plans. If you’re in the Tidewater area and want a wonderful place to relax and be pampered, stay at the Hornsby House Inn. We miss it and know we’ll be back soon. Thank you for your gracious hospitality and for the lovely follow up “thank you for staying with us.” TripAdvisor.com (Baltimore, MD) – January 2013

“The Hornsby House Inn”  I stayed at the Hornsby House Inn over the holiday season. Staying at the Inn was the perfect place for the holidays. We stayed in the Hornsby Suite which was so beautiful with a working fireplace to relax by. The bed was really comfortable and the suite and the Inn are styled beautifully. The Inn is a special place in Yorktown and a must when you plan your visit to the area. Centrally located across from the Yorktown Monument and an easy walk to the beach and the Yorktown Visitor’s Center. Quick drive to Jamestown and Wiliamsberg – this is the place to stay when visiting the area…Room Tip: any room you select you will be happy with….. TripAdvisor.com (New York City, NY) – December 2012

“Wonderful family vacation!!”  My husband and I really enjoy reviewing the places that we stay. This trip included my husbands mother.
After looking for a few hours, we narrowed down our search at the Horsnby Inn. The Inn was one of very few to include larger rooms that can accomodate more adults. We stayed in the Chesapeake Suite that included two separate rooms with a shared bath. The price was reasonable enough for my husband and I to afford to costs for two nights. . . . Both nights were very comfortable. The beds were soft and enough blankets were included to keep warm. Each room also has its own thermostat to control heat/cool. Even though it was a “full house”…the shower never ran cold and we hardly heard any footsteps in the mornings. The house itself is beautiful!! I love all the original touches and the amazing staircase. I can just imagine the children sliding down the banister. Dave and his brother painstakingly renovated this home to be enjoyed by their guests.
Breakfast was also enjoyable. The breakfast time is a bit late (between 8:30am -9am). It left us a few less hours to explore the area, but it also required us to sleep in a bit and actually enjoy our vacation. We settled down for breakfast around the table with fresh fruit. As everyone found their seats, the warm dishes were soon laid out. The first day included bacon, sausage, cranberry muffins, cheese grits, sausage casserole, corned beef over an English muffin and homemade granola cereal. The second day included zucchini bread, breakfast casserole, grits, sausage, french toast, and homemade granola. Drinks included coffee, tea, milk, orange juice and water. . . . Dave enjoyed breakfast with us both mornings and we enjoyed hearing about the history of the home, as well as talking with the other guests. We had breakfast for almost an hour each morning. Dave and his brother enjoyed taking funny jabs at each other each morning. You can certainly tell that this has been a business grown out of love. As a repeat B&B visitor, I have no problem recommending this Inn to the list of favorites. I would certainly stay again in the future. Yorktown was a perfect location for visiting Williamsburg and Jamestown (20-30 mins distance). The B&B is within walking distance of the Yorktown memorial and the downtown/waterfront area. TripAdvisor.com (Washington, DC) – November 2012

“Highly recommended!”  The Hornsby House Inn was amazing! We stayed for two nights with our family and had a wonderful time. Phil and Dave were extremely welcoming and friendly as well as incredibly laid back. We had a great view of the York River, the food was absolutely amazing, and our hosts were quite knowledgable on the local history. Our room was large and very cozy, and the shower had great water pressure. I would definitely recommend it! TripAdvisor.com (New York City, NY) – November 2012

“A great stay” We had a wonderful stay at the Hornsby House Inn. David and Phillip were excellent hosts and exceeded our expectations in service. Our room was nicely decorated with a great view of the York River. David prepared an excellent breakfast each morning. TripAdvisor.com (Kill Devil Hills, NC) – November 2012

“Hornsby House Inn is beautiful” Brothers Phil and Dave Bowditch run a beautiful B&B. It was their family home and is full of wonderful antiques, private baths for rooms, outstanding breakfast, and super location for visiting the quaint and charming historice Yorktown. TripAdvisor.com (Williamsburg, VA) – October 2012

“Great fall weekend!” My husband and I spent two nights in October in this wonderfully restored bed and breakfast in Yorktown. The hosts/owners were friendly, helpful and great cooks. We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour both nights and the excellent breakfast both days. There was a lot to do in Yorktown to entertain us duing the day and great restaurants to eat in for lunch and dinner. I would highly recommend a trip here. BedandBreakfast.com – October 2012

“Wonderful authentic ‘taste of the South’” We had a wonderful two night stay in the Hornsby House Inn and loved every minute of it. Our hosts were warm and friendly, we always stay in B&B’s when we travel abroad as it’s the best way to get a real ‘feel’ for the country and local area and our trip to Hornsby certainly lived up to all our expectations. Thank you so much for your hospitality:-) Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, you cant go wrong:-) TripAdvisor.com (Rugby, United Kingdom) – October 2012

“Exceptional weekend getaway” This family owned and managed B&B is nothing short of excellence. The rooms are breathtaking, the beds are fantastic, wine and cheese in the evening is fantastic, The history stories over wine are incredible, and breakfast is better than you will receive at any hotel. We only live 15 miles away, and wanted to get away for a weekend without driving far. This was the perfect place. I recommned a stay at the Hornsby House to anyone. They really do put on a class act here and just a few minutes walk to so much history and entertainment. we plan on staying here more often. TripAdvisor.com (Poquoson, VA) – October 2012

“Best service I’ve ever had” I stayed here on a business trip and was very impressed. Dave, the host, was vey friendly and engaging. The food was great and the wine and cheese at 5pm was a nice touch. When I got stuck at a waterfront restaurant in the rain I was thinking of calling Dave on his cell. But before I got out my phone, who strolls into the restaurant but my excellent host! He had umbrellas and a minivan ready to get us back to the inn. That’s what I call overflowing service! I plan to stay here every time I come to Yorktown. BedandBreakfast.com – September 2012

“Historic home, great owners, wonderful location” There are no negatives to this inn. The location is amazing: right across from the Yorktown monument, steps from the national park, and a short walk to the river and watefront. The home is absolutely beautiful: competely redone family home that is so comfortable. The owners are great: two brothers who grew up there, who can cook, and who will make your feel welcome but not smothered. The rooms are so nice from the size to the bedding, breakfast is crazy-good, you can walk out the door for a great day at the park or the water (or drive to closeby Williamsburg or Jamestown), the 5pm wine on the front porch is a great way to meet fellow guests and neighbors, and it is quiet at night. I can’t recommend this place enough. They know how to do it right here. This is one of the best places I have stayed in the States or abroad, and the Hornsby House Inn brothers (and associated extras) made it one of our best trips ever. TripAdvisor.com (AZ) – September 2012

 The Perfect B & B  What a wonderful place to spend our 60th Wedding Anniversary. Our host, David Bowditch, was most gracious, doing everything he could to make our stay pleasant. The home is lovely, the rooms were furnished beautifully, and the breakfasts were outstanding. You will go away wanting to take recipes with you! The 5 o’clock wine and cheese hour was so enjoyable, especially getting to meet the other guests. We look forward to returning to the Hornsby House.  Bed and Breakfast.com – August 2012

Wedding Venue  We loved this place for our wedding. Dave and Renee were wonderful host. I would highly recommend them for anybody. Great place for a small wedding. All of our wedding guest had a wonderful time and enjoyed the Hornsby house.  Bed and Breakfast.com – August 2012

 “Relaxing kid free get-away!”  Got away for the first night without kids and this was a great retreat. Hornsby House was comfortable and relaxing from the moment we walked in. The house has an old charm but the rooms and bathrooms are perfectly updated with amenities (in room air conditioner that we controlled in July was wonderful! iPOD docking station / alarm clock). I loved the views of the Yorktown Monument from our room. Wine and Cheese happy hour was great, and David also was willing to accommodate if we preferred beer or something else. I needed to use the fridge to store somethings and that was no problem. 

I wasn’t sure if I would want to wake up for breakfast (like I said – first night away from 2 kids – sleeping in is a luxury!) but breakfast is a must! The egg and sausage casserole was fantastic, my husband is still talking about the blueberry and raspberry muffins, and the grits were so good.

We left feeling relaxed and refreshed! Rockville, MD – July 2012

“Paul & Karren”  We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hornsby House. Dave and Phillip were gracious and helpful hosts and Lisa (Phillip’s daughter) was very charming. Guests essentially have the run of the entire house and it feels more like a visit with friends or family than a stay at a typical B&B. The daily wine and cheese offering is a wonderful way to get acquainted with other guests and is a great way to unwind after a day of touring.

The house itself is bright and beautiful and the tasteful collection of antiques is in full use, adding to the “at home” feel.

We would recommend staying at Hornsby House to anyone. Toronto, Canada – July 2012

Wonderful, lovely inn in a great location in historic Yorktown.  This is such a lovely, stately home and my family and I will look forward to returning. Our room was beautifully decorated as well as quiet and spacious. We had an adjoining private terrace to sit on and we could see the York River and the Victory Monument. We were out for the afternoons and missed the wine and cheese that is offered, but the breakfast was wonderful with great coffee and delicious homemade food in a charming, gracious dining room. Sarah C. - July 2012

“Great B&B destination for a Virginia getaway.” Great bed & breakfast, with very hospitable innkeepers, who bent over backwards to accommodate us. Would recommend this Inn to anyone who desires a quiet place to stay in a picturesque town while being close to vacation destinations in Williamsburg & Jamestown. Breakfast was fantastic, and Dave & Phil made us feel right at home in their Grandfathers home. Vassar, Michigan – July 2012

Fabulous!  We loved everything about the Hornsby House…the rooms, cleanliness, service, food and location. The Bowditch brothers are great hosts. We will be back! Bed and Breakfast.com – July 2012

“A dreamy experience you will never forget – just perfect!” I called at the last moment to reserve a room for my visiting parents. Even though it was quite late Dave answered and took his time explaining what he had available. A reservation was made and my parents were pleasantly surprised at how perfect the entire experience was. Truth be told – my mother is very picky but she just fell in love with the Hornsby House Inn.

One additional feature that my parents enjoyed was the fact that each room had their own individual temperature control on the wall controlling a state of the art unit that allowed them to adjust the room to the exact temperature they desired. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in the Yorktown area I can’t think of a better one to stay at. The house if filled with a rich history and all sorts of interesting relics. Yorktown, VA – July 2012

Hornsby House review   We enjoyed our stay very much. The house was such a treat – so much history. We appreciated David and Phil sharing their house and stories with us. We will be sure to recommend it to anyone who is going to the Yorktown area. The hosts were wonderful, the rooms were large and comfortable and the food was great. David & Joan R - July 2012

“Wonderful Honeymoon Destination” My husband and I spent four nights at the Hornsby House this June for our home-base for our honeymoon vacation to Williamsburg, Jamestown, and (of course) Yorktown. We had a spectacular, beautiful room with delicious breakfast each morning and a relaxing wine hour each afternoon. Unlike other B&Bs visited in the past, the owners genuinely give you the feeling of being at home–their home, as you visit. The house is in a very quiet location, but the owners (Dave and Phil) make sure to keep things upbeat. Absolutely would stay again. Adrienne S., Charleston, SC – July  2012

That Something Extra  Part of the reason one goes to a bed and breakfast instead of a hotel is to get the feeling of the place. You feel like you are part of Yorktown and Tidewater history when you stay at the Hornsby House Inn. The Inn was converted from a family home that was one of the centers of the region’s social circles for decades. That being said the two owners Phil and David have updated the house with comfortable furnishing while not loosing the historic flavor. Different family and friends stop by at cocktail hour to add to the local color. Bed and Breakfast.com – June  2012

Wonderful!  I did not think I could enjoy such a marvelous vacation so close to home (we live in the Northern Neck) but it could not have been better. David and Phil are perfect hosts, so warm and friendly and so proud of this beautiful family home. The location is perfect for walking or catching the trolley anywhere in Yorktown which has more than its share of wonderful museums to visit. If I were thinking of visiting the Historic Triangle, I would pick this spot: all the charm of Williamsburg but much more user friendly and less congested. I could go on and on about what a great venue this is for getting together with a group of friends or any special event! Nancy and Danny K. – June  2012

“This is a fantastic B&B!”  My husband and I ended up in Yorktown for the day, and had originally planned on staying in a hotel in downtown Williamsburg for two nights since we were in town for a nephew’s graduation, but liked this adorable town so much we tried to find a place to stay there. All of the B&B’s (I think there are four of them) were booked, but David had one room cancellation. We went over, looked at the room, and immediately booked it at about 4:00p.m. The house is beautiful, built by David’s grandfather in the early 1900′s. All of the rooms have A/C, and I don’t think there is a bad room in the place. David made sure we knew about the wine and cheese available at 5:30p.m., so we joined the other guests staying at the inn (I believe it has six bedrooms, all beautiful!) on the porch for wine and wonderful cheeses and meats while looking over the water in the distance and the beautiful, huge revolutionary war monument across the street. 

The next morning we had rented bikes at the Patriot Tours and Provisions to tool around the battlefields (there is an 8.5 mile loop that takes you to all of the revolutionary war sites in Yorktown). Patriot is wonderful-we wanted to get out early before breakfast around 6:30a.m. and get our ride in, so they gave us our helmets, maps, and the key to the lock where the bikes were since they did not open until 10:00a.m. We picked up our touring bikes (the baskets in front were handy for our jackets and the camera) and had a great ride (including visiting the farmer’s market which is right across from the water), after which we went back to the inn where David had a yummy breakfast set out for us on a beautifully set table. I can’t say enough nice things about David and his brothers Phil and Bill. They were so friendly and helpful, and just knocked themselves out trying to please all of us and give us information about the area, the restaurants, the history, and the people. We will DEFINITELY stay there when we go back to Virginia! Sean and Suzanne, Portland, Oregon – June  2012

Extraordinary “Bowditch” ambiance!  We were treated to 3 gracious, hospitable evenings and 3 delicious mornings by David and Phil in the elegant surroundings of Hornsby House Inn! Escaping to its beauty and serenity each night, after the hustle, bustle, and excitement of William and Mary Graduation each day in Williamsburg, made for a truly memorable visit to Colonial Virginia. We have already recommended Yorktown and Hornsby House Inn to many friends and family. Bed and Breakfast.com – May  2012

“Great B&B!”  We were there for the Va home and garden tours. The Inn was wonderful. We enjoyed the home cooked breakfasts each morning and the wine & cheese afternoons. The rooms were pretty and comfortable. We enjoyed the hospitality of David, Phillip and Rene. It was a fabulous experience from start to finish!!! Will be back. Theresa, Albany, Ga – May  2012

“Great place to Stay!” I am not usually a “B&B Person” but we stayed here on a whim. We stayed in the River View Room. We loved the place. The owners are very friendly and welcoming in opening their home to us. The house has been in the family for a long time and you can see the history of family all around. At 5pm they have a get together with all the guests for wine and cheese on the front porch looking over the York River. It was very nice to get to meet the other guests and talk with the owners. Afterwards everyone went off to do their own thing. My wife and I stayed on the porch and chatted with one of the owners for a couple of hours. We had a great time. I don’t eat breakfast since I really don’t like eggs but the spread that they had in the morning was fabulous. I actually went back for seconds. My wife was shocked :-) .  We only spent a night there but in retrospect should have stayed another. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in the area. Williamsburg and Jamestown are only a few minutes away and the Yorktown battlefield is basically across the street. Also there is a nice little beach about 100 yds down the hill. All in all a great place to stay!  C Breedon, Seattle – April  2012

We arrived home safe and sound. . . . Would hope to revisit the BEST B&B this side of the Continental Divide (haven’t stayed in too many on the other side).  Merv S. –  April 2012

Without a doubt, the finest, most beautiful, friendliest B&B we have ever encountered! Thank you, David and Philip, for a most delightful stay, with incredible extra offerings of hospitality!!  Janet & Ernie W. – March  2012

A one-night stay isn’t enough! We enjoyed our visit and the conversations with the other guests and with Dave so much. Handsome men who can clean and cook – unbelievable!  Gene & Susie H. – March  2012

“Classy and comfortable paired with extraordinary service in a beautiful location – a true gem!” A great B&B experience that I would recommend to all. Great food, comfy and gorgeous rooms. Wonderful owners that make you feel at home. Thanks so much to David & Rene for the wonderful experience you offer in Yorktown, Va. Maribel, Temecula, CA – March  2012

“Couldn’t be happier!”  From the moment I contacted David Bowditch to consider the possibility of my group of 5 colleagues staying at Hornsby House Inn we were treated to the warmest hospitality. My colleagues all said they slept through the night because of the quiet and the comfortable beds. We relished gourmet breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese in the most gracious of settings. This was a working group and the comfort of Hornsby House rewarded our work lavishly. My colleagues felt pampered and want to return. Thank you David, Phil and Renee (David’s wife)! Being from Yorktown I am extremely proud to have offered my friends this wonderful experience. Elsa B. – March  2012

Heavenly retreat!  Joined four life-long friends here for a mini second 40th high school reunion, and were met with gracious, old-fashioned, genteel Southern hospitality. We could not have found a lovelier location and inn in which to stay anywhere. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the rooms warm and inviting, and the breakfast was superb. It felt like staying in a friend’s home rather than in an inn. The decor was lovely, the attention to detail wonderful, and nothing had been left to chance. Everyone said over and over how wonderful it was, and we are already talking about gathering there again! I highly recommend the Hornsby House Inn as THE place to stay anytime you want to visit Williamsburg or just get away. Bed and Breakfast.com - March  2012

“A lovely weekend”  Just wanted to thank you so much for the gracious, old-fashioned, genteel Southern hospitality with which you showered our group this past weekend.  We could not have found a lovelier location and inn in which to stay anywhere.  The beds were incredibly comfortable, the rooms warm and inviting, and the breakfast was superb.  It felt like staying in a friend’s home rather than in an inn.  The attention to detail was wonderful, and nothing had been left to chance.   Everyone said over and over how wonderful it was and how we could not possibly have done better, and we are already talking about gathering there again!  We agreed we’d love to stay when it’s warmer and we can explore the town and just “hang out.”  We will definitely pass the word on to our friends and acquaintances that this is THE place to stay anytime they want to visit Williamsburg or just get away. Carol E. – March 2012

Historic Yorktown gets a new star  When I learned that the Hornsby House Inn had been open only six months, I was amazed, as Innkeeper David makes it seem like they have been providing first class service and accommodations for decades. The house is beautifully appointed, the location could not be more central, and the food was excellent. I plan to return often, and recommend others do the same. John W., Beaufort, SC – March  2012

A journey into the past staying in this beautiful house in such an historic area. Beautiful appointments and views in the bedrooms, gracious high ceilings, fabulous comfort food served in vintage china. A relaxing escape from our often harried pace of 2012. Ed & Carol Ann S. – March 2012

Unbelievable!! We’ll be back . . . perfecto! Sandi & Tom A. – February  2012

We had a wonderful, peaceful, relaxing time in your gracious and charming home. We loved the grand suite and will tell our friends about Hornsby House.  Elaine & Jim B. – February 2012

David & Philip, thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home! We loved every minute from the delicious breakfast to the delightful company and stories, and comfortable room. We can’t wait to return sometime soon – and we will be sure to spread the word. Much love, Corrie & Jay – January  2012

What a wonderful, warm, and inviting B&B!  The stay, the room, the hosts, and the homemade  breakfast were wonderful. We spent our 3 year anniversary here & it was perfect. We will be telling all  of our friends and family about the Hornsby House Inn. Thank you for everything!  Chamaro & Emily – December  2011

“What an incredible experience!”  Yorktown, VA, is one of our favorite locations for walking, sightseeing and experiencing two very important periods of American history – the Revolutionary War and the Civil War. During a recent visit we learned that the historic Hornsby House had recently been converted to a bed and breakfast. Since our 44th anniversary was on December 21, we decided to make reservations for the night. The Web Site was very user friendly and we were able to choose our room and make the reservations very easily.

When we checked in we were greeted by Phil, one of the two brothers who grew up in the house and now run the bed and breakfast. Phil spent a couple of hours with us sharing the history of the house and of the Yorktown area while we enjoyed wine and cheese. It was a rainy evening, but we could not have possibly enjoyed the evening more as Phil was the perfect host. He then gave us a tour of the facility, which ended at our room – the Riverview Room. We chose this room since it overlooked historic main Street, the Yorktown Victory Monument and the York River. Absolutely spectacular! Our room, as well as the rest of the house, has all of the modern conveniences as well as the beauty, charm, comfort and decor of an eighty year old landmark.

Tonya took over for Phil and catered to all of our needs, including preparing a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Brother Dave arrived in the morning and picked up where Phil left off talking about the family, the house and Yorktown. Although there were two additional groups who received the same level of attention that we did, Tonya, Phil and Dave all made us feel like special guests. We highly recommend the Hornsby House to anyone looking for a beautiful, historic bed and breakfast with a spectacular view of beautiful, historic Yorktown. We will definitely return. Newport News, VA – December  2011

We have stayed at a lot of B&Bs and this one ranks at the top. Thank you for opening up your home and history. Dan & Linda M. – December  2011

“Wonderful find!”  Visiting the Colonial Triangle (Jamestown, WIlliamsburg, Yorktown, VA) with friends found this gem right in Yorktown itself, and within walking distance to the Visitor Center. Reservations easy to make; very informative Web site; very reasonable rates. 
Host David greeted us upon arrival; gave a tour of the accommodations; set up for a wine & cheese repast; had the fireplace going; all while regaling us with the history of the house and family.
Rooms spacious and very nicely decorated; nice sitting areas; linens and towels luxurious; beds very comfortable. Stayed in the Monument Suite, which has a porch that overlooks the Victory Monument and the York river.
Breakfast the next morning beyond expectations – OJ, coffee, tea, fruit, eggs benedict, and french toast. Ate so much we skipped lunch.
We will definitely return for a future stay!  Ashburn, VA – December  2012

Beautiful room, great location, wonderful hospitality! Thank you for a fabulous weekend! Jeff & Becky W. – November 2011

I visited Virginia in October of 2011 and while looking around Yorktown, my friend and I decided to stay there in colonial Yorktown for the night. We happened to pick up a brochure that had The Hornsby House Inn advertisement. I called the house at 2:00 pm and got the last room available for that night. We didn’t have a clue what we were getting into. As I had never been to Virginia and my friend had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast there before since she lived in Richmond. When we arrived, David was waiting on us. Very friendly and accommodating. We were taken on a tour of the house and given some background information. That was the best call I have ever made, at the last minute, for an overnight lodging! The house is wonderful! Filled with lots of history, family and love! We felt at home right away. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows just fit! The room we stayed in, had a balcony, left side when looking at the picture. We slept with the door open without a worry. The weather was great! Chilly in the night, cool in the morning and warmed up nicely for going to the Wine festival. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast before we left the next morning. More than enough to last us the day! All in all, I would highly recommend visiting the Hornsby House Inn if you’re in Yorktown! Even if its a little out of your way. It is a fabulous place to stay!  LouAnn G.  –   November  2011

Our room on the 3rd floor was magnificent!!! Being able to see the views from the dormer windows was priceless. The friendliness and good food made Hornsby House feel like home.  Ernie – October  2011

My husband and I were among the inn’s first guests after opening. The B&B is one of the most beautiful we have ever stayed in, furnished with paintings and antiques that have been in the family for years.  Views of the river and the Yorktown Monument abound, and the hosts are warm and welcoming. Afternoon wine and cheese was served in the parlor and the front veranda, and there are two pianos in the inn, including a Steinway, for music lovers to enjoy. The room we stayed in (Riverview) was spacious and comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast the following morning was delicious; especially the breakfast casserole and cream cheese French toast.  The inn is located within a 5 minute walk of the Yorktown visitor’s center for those interested in a tour of the battlefields, and a 5 minute downhill walk to the river for those interested in dining on the water. We highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting Yorktown.    Catherine S. –  August 27, 2011